Oh the Places You Will Go

Charlotte pup is 14 weeks old this week!  She got her final Distemper-Parvo booster on Wednesday, and has the go-ahead from the vet to hit the trails. I’m so excited for the weekend and taking her out on the trail. 

It’s been a couple of years since I’ve been able to run more than a mile or two with Franklin and Artemis, because of their advanced ages and arthritis. The past six months or so, they have really only been able to go on short walks, and Franklin seems to have slowed down in the past few weeks since Artemis passed away. (He is 14 1/2 years old!) I’m excited to soon have a dog that  I can run with again. Charlotte and I have been doing one to two mile morning jogs around the neighborhood, and she has been doing great on the leash. 

The sense of happiness that I have when I think of running with her on the trails is incredible. I’ll need to be careful with her the first couple of years, because I don’t want to stress her joints too much too early by taking her too far. That part is going to be a real challenge, because I know that hitting the trails will bring us so much joy that we will want to go and go and go…

The excitement I have thinking of the adventures Charlotte and I will have together is so huge, and brings me great joy. I know she will love it, and thinking of how I will be able to watch her explore and learn and grow makes me so happy. Oh, Charlotte, the places you will go… I can’t wait to show you… we are going to have some amazing adventures together!

Leave a Reply

